View Yorkshire Heritage in a larger map
Byland Abbey - Byland
Byland Abbey was one of Yorkshire largest Cistercian Abbeys, which at it's peak was home to over 200 monks and lay brothers. Much of the catherdral-sized church still remains to be explored. Walking through the remains you can see a range of different architectural styles from the rounded Romanesque arches to pointed Gothic arches, which show how Byland Abbey has evolved through time. The dominating feature for the ruins is the remaining part of the huge circular rose window, which is thought to be the model for the similar rose window in York Minster. The history of the Abbey and the surrounding area is explained in the Byland Abbey Museum, which stands at the entrance to the Abbey ruins. Why not take your time and enjoy the spectacular views of the area by visiting the Abbey Inn opposite from the ruins for a spot of light lunch or a snack?!
Byland Abbey is only five minutes drive from the hotel and there is car parking available approximately 70 metres from the entrance, but there is a drop off point at the entrance for less abled visitors.
Castle Howard - York
Sat in over 2000 acres of stunning parklands, Castle Howard is a dramatic structure, designed in 1699 by Sir John Vanbrugh, that took over 100 years to complete. Throughout the years new collections have been added to the house by the generations of the Howard family, which gives the house a great sense of history and family. The house suffered major damage from fire in 1940, which destroyed the great dome, several rooms and numerous works of art, but has been restored to its former glory and is a now a breathtaking day out. Castle Howard is set in fabulous gardens and parklands which are also open to the public and is home to various shops selling local produce and crafts aa well as several tearooms to refuel after exploring everything this family home has to offer.
The House at Castle Howard is open between 16th March 2009 and 1st November 2009 and 28th November 2009 and 20th December 2009 from 11am until 4pm. There is ample parking and designated disabled spaces. The majority of the house, gardens, tearooms and shops are wheelchair accessible. Prepaid tickets for the House and Gardens can be arranged through our hotel reception.
Duncombe Park - Helmsley
Just a stones throw from the hotel, Duncombe Park estate is home to a stunning 200 roomed baroque mansion, the family home of the Duncombe's. Building of this vast house was completed in 1689, but was nearly totally destroyed in 1879 by a major fire. Since that time the house has been completely restored to it's former glory, largely following the orginal 17th century design. One of the new additions to the estate, that wasn't in the orginal plans, is The Fountain tearooms, situated by the car park at the parkland centre, which serves delicious home baked Yorkshire goodies, which are a must when visiting Duncombe Park. There is also large formal gardens and acres of parkland which are open to the public to explore, and dogs are also welcome in the parkland on leads.
The house and gardens are open every Sunday to Thursday inclusive between 12th April 2009 and 25th October2009 but the house viewing is by tour guide only. Guide tour leave at 12:30pm, 1:30pm , 2:30pm amd 3:30pm every day. The House is wheelchair accessible, with a lift to the first floor and assistance dogs are welcome both indoors and outdoors. Prepaid tickets can be arranged through the hotel reception.
Located along side the market town of Helmsley, the remains of this once daunting medieval castle couldn't be closer to the hotel. Orginally started in 1120 as a fortess, Helmsley Castle has ungone many changes including being remodelled into a luxury mansion by the Manners family in the Elizebethian period, fortified into a military strong hold throughout the civil war and downsized into a family home, minus the defences, for the parliamentarian Thomas Fairfax's daughter in 1644. As the owners moved to the baroque mansion at Duncombe Park, Helmsley Castle was left to the elements but has now been made over by English Heritage. The majoirty of the castle and grounds are accessible to all, but their is a virtual tour available of the less accessible areas in the information centre at the entrance of the castle grounds.
The castle is open between 1st April 2009 and 1st November 2009 every day from 10am until 6pm (5pm during october 2009). Between 2nd November 2009 and 28th February 2010 the Castle is open Thursday through to Monday from 10am until 4pm. The Castle is closed 24th - 26th December 2009 and 1st January 2010. The castle entrance is adjoining the public car park in Helmsley and has designated disabled spaces. Dogs on leads are welcome to visit the castle as well. Although there is no tea room at the castle itself, you are spoilt for choice of tearooms for a tasty cake or treat in Helmsley.
Built on the commands of William the Conqueror to control the surrounding areas, Pickering Castle is a great example of a classic early Norman castle with wonderfully preserved earthworks. Through the years Pickering Castle has been adapted, mainly refortified during the 13th and 14th centuries and the original timber frame being replaced with stone, this evolution is noticable as you wander around these scenic remains. By the 17th century Pickering Castle had served it's useful life and was left to the elements. What still remains today gives a fabulous impression of how imposing this building has once been. Pickering Castle is just off the town centre of Pickering, so why not explore this beautiful market town as well as it's castle. You will find some unique shops, a truly tempting chocolatier, and many cafes and bistros.
Pickering Castle is open every day between 1st April 2009 until 30th September 2009 from 10am until 6pm and dogs are welcome on leads.There is car parking available 75 metres from the entrance and all the castle and grounds is wheelchair accessible, except for the motte.
Mount Grace Priory
Mount Grace is one of the premier Cathusian Priorys in England. Cathusian Monks, unlike most monks who live in communities, lived a near hermit like existence. This is clearly evident at Mount Grace, where the ruins which remain show the small 'cell like' living quarters of the monks. Kids will love the reconstructed rooms, which are great to explore and expereince how the monks lived from day to day. There is no tea room or cafe at the priory, but why not sit in the scenic grounds and take in the atmosphere, whilst enjoying a picnic and surrounding views!
Situated only a 45 minute drive from the hotel, near the pretty market town of Northallerton, Mount Grace Priory is open between 10am and 4pm from Tuesday to Sunday, 1st October 2009 until 31st January 2010, with last admission at 3:30pm. There is free car parking at the priory and also a drop off point at the entrance. The majority of the ground and first floor of the ruins are wheelchair accessible and dogs are welcome on leads.
Located near Ripon, a 45 minute drive from the Hotel, Newby Hall is a stunning Family Home. Owned by the Compton family this beautiful house has been lovingly restored to it 18th century elegance. Newby Hall was built in the 17th century under the guidance of Sir Chrispother Wren, and the decoration and furishing have been added by the generations of the Compton family. The majority of the contents of the house have been collected by William Wendall and includes such delights as the Gobelins Tapestry Room, and gallery of classical statues and some of Chippendale's finest furniture. The house is sat in spectular formal gardens, with a recently added adventure garden and amples of woodlands to explore.
Newby Hall is open from Tuesday to Sunday between the 1st April 2009 until the 27th September 2009, by guided tour only between 12noon and 4pm. there is a charming cafe to treat yourself to to a home baked cake or something a little more substanial! There is parking available at the Hall, with designated disabled spaces for Blue Badge holders. The ground floor, which conatin the main feature rooms are all wheelchair accessible. Assistance dogs are welcome in the house.
Why not follow the Cleveland Way for three miles from the hotel and arrive at the stunning remains of Rievaulx Abbey. Orginally built in 1132 by 12 monks from Clairvaux Abbey, to form a colonisation centre for the North of Engaldn and Scotland.The Abbey went on to be one of the largest and most influencial in the country, home to over 140 monks and many more lay brothers. Today the ruins nestle in a sheltered valley along side the River Rye. There is a pretty little tea room serving fresh, local homemade goodies and dogs (on leads) are more than welcome to stretch their legs on the Abbey site and surrounding land.
Rievaulx Abbey is open from 1st October 2009 until March 2010 from 10am until 5pm (4pm from 2nd November until 31st march) from Thursday until Monday. It is closed Christmas Eve to Boxing Day and New Years Day. There is a large car park at the Abbey, with designated disable spaces and the majority of the site is wheelchair accessible.
Just a few miles down the River Rye from Rievaulx Abbey or a 15 minutes drive from the hotel, is the spectacular honey coloured manor house, Nunnington Hall. Built in the 17th Century, Nunnington Hall has a maginificent oak panelled hall, three grand staircases leading onto the family rooms, attics, the nursery and the spooky 'haunted' room, where, it is thought, a small child who fell to his death from the window in the room resides! Nunnington Hall is also home to a large and unusual collection of miniture doll's houses, depicting rooms, furnishing and decoration from many different periods of history. There is so much to explore at Nunnington Hall, you may have to have a restorative cup of tea and scone at their tea rooms which serve home made baking and light meals throughout the day!
Open between 11am and 5pm between 28th February 2009 and 1st November 2009 on Tuesdays to Sundays and between 7th November 2009 and 12 December 2009 on a Saturday and Sunday between 11am and 4pm. Last Admission to the Hall is 30 minutes before closing. There is limited parking near the Hall, but there is a drop off point outside the main entrance. Accessibility for wheelchair users in limited due to the narrow corridors and doorways and steep stairways. Only assistance dogs are allowed in the house.
Burton Agnes Hall
Orginally built in 1173, Burton Agnes Hall has been extended and developed ever since, to the Hall as it is today. And what a Hall it is, showing architecture and decoration from regency, georgian and many more periods of history, Burton Agnes is truly a walk through time. The Boynton family still live in the Hall today and hope that it will continue to be a 'lived in' family home for generations to come. Visiting Burton Agnes Hall is an opportunities to see some of the most fabulous and unusual interior features and keep your eye's open for the ghost of Katherine (Anne) Griffith, who is said to walk the corridors and watch over her beautiful home! Burton Agnes Hall is situated in beautiful formal gardens which are also open to the public. Why not make a day of it and enjoy a spot of light lunch, or a tasty cake or two in the Impressionists Cafe
An hour and a half drive away from the hotel, Burton Agnes Hall is located in between Malton and Bridlington. There is ample parking available at the Hall and there are is a separate disabled car park to the left of the entrance. The grounds and ground floor of the Hall are all wheelchair accessible, by unfortunately the second and third floors are not (there is a reduced entrance fee to reflect this) Dogs are welcome on leads.
Located on the outskirts of York, Sutton Park was orginally built in 1730, from a stunning mellow brick by Thomas Atkinson. It is now the family home of Sir Reginald and Lady Sheffield, who moved into the property in 1963. When the Sheffield's moved into the property they brought with them a beautiful collection of 18th Century furniture and art and porcelain from Buckingham House, now known as Buckingham Palace! The House is a wonderful example of Georgian architecture and overlooks a spectacular parkland. Finish off your visit to Sutton Park with a scrumptious cake or afternoon tea at the Sutton park Tea Room.
There is a car park with designated disabled spaces and the majority of the house is wheel chair accessible. Dogs are welcome to visit the Parklands, but only assistance dogs are allowed in the formal gardens and house.
Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal
Fountains Abbey and The Studley Royal Water gardens is the perfect day out with something for every one.The dramatic Abbey ruins are the largest Monastic ruins in the country. Nestled in the valley of the River Skell, flanked by two large expanses of lawned area with and awe inspiring cliff faces either side, makes for a breath taking site. Explore the remains of the Abbey, the winding passages, staircases and towers and the incredible vaulted ceiling of the Cellarium that has survived. The Abbey remains are along side the Studley Royal Water Gardens, both of which are surrounded by the parklands of the Studley Royal estate. With so much to explore, build up your strength with a light snack or cake at the tea rooms, or go from something a little more substantial in the Visitor Centre's restaurant.
York Minster is one of the world's greatest and most famous Catherdrals, the way it dominates the York skyline is simply breathtaking! Started in 1220 and completed in 1470's York minster is an artistic and architectural masterpiece. It is a must see attraction for any visitor to York! There are many different aspects of the Minster to investigate including the The Undercroft, The Tower and the Chapter House.
There is no parking facilities at the Minster, but it is a 50 yard walk from the taxi rank and a short walk from the Park and Ride bus stops. Due to the design and age of the Minster, accessibilty to wheelchair users is limited in places, but where accessiblity is restricted every effort has been made, with interpretation,displays and information, to bring these areas to a wider audience.
Special offer weekend and midweek hotel packages available at Feversham Arms Hotel >>